//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

The Überman: readjusting


Last night was the first time that I had a major upset with my new sleeping pattern. My cell phone acts as my alarm clock. I have an HTC EVO which sucks battery life like no one’s business! Since I’m not a fan of carrying around a charger, I ended up getting a spare battery when I first got the phone. Each night, before going to bed I would swap out my nearly dead battery for the spare one. Since I don’t have a “bedtime” anymore there have been several occasions where I almost forgot to replace the battery. Last night it finally happened: I failed to replace the battery.

Normally waking up at 6:33 AM and feeling refreshed is the best feeling in the world. Today it was not. Have you seen the movie “Employee Of The Month“? There is a scene near the end of the movie where Zach (Dane Cook) rolls over to turn off his alarm, but notices it isn’t going off. He then grabs his cell phone, looks at the time, and then has a freak out moment. “HOLY! NO! NO! NO!” — yeah, that was me this morning when I realized my phone was dead, then turning on my Kindle to see it was 6:33 and I had been asleep for 3 hours.

My body keeps saying, “Whats the big deal? We feel great! Stop complaining!” To which my brain replies, “It’s a good thing that I’m in charge of thinking because you don’t seem to get it. Since we slept for 3 hours, rather than 20 minutes, we are going to be super tired when trying to get back on schedule. Lets not do that again. Mmmkay pumpkin?”

Hopefully readjusting won’t be too bad from this minor set back.

One thing that I have noticed is that my 11:30 AM and 3:30 PM naps are the hardest for me. My body just hasn’t quite grasped the concept of “go to sleep now” during those times. When I do fall asleep at those times, I wake up wondering if I had actually been asleep since it doesn’t feel like I fell asleep at all. It is an interesting feeling to wake up to an alarm, but question if you had been asleep at all.

More updates to come!

P.s. If you had 6 extra hours in your day, what would you do with them? Please leave your answers in the comment box below! I look forward to reading what you would do with your extra time.

About Jaxon

I am a spiritual being here to have mortal experiences. I believe in love. Not the love that can be fit in three words: I love you, but in the love that radiates from a couple who cherish one another more than life itself. I believe in love as it has been intended to be: eternal. I believe in progress. Learning from life, love, books, people and inspiration should be a daily experience. There is something incredible about a person who strives to be their best self. I believe in pursuing dreams. Mortality only happens once and is too short to simply sit back and allow it to pass you by. Goals, dreams and those who join in the pursuit of those dreams are what live worth while. I believe in being happy! True happiness is not found. It is a choice. The moment life is seen as being beautiful and is deeply appreciated, the easier it is to choose to be happy. I believe in the Gospel of Jesus Christ. He is my Savior, my King and my Friend. I am a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and living His truth is key to my happiness and existence.

Discussion

One thought on “The Überman: readjusting

  1. With six hours? I’d paint for two, draw for two, and write letters to my husband for two. Then I wouldn’t have to doodle on my board meeting notes anymore, write my husband two lined love notes on Post-Its, and stare at my unfinished paintings on the wall anymore.

    Posted by Jessi | August 20, 2012, 1:05 pm

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 103 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 3,875 hits
Map
