//
you're reading...
Self Improvement & Mentoring

E[nergy]motion


Emotion = Energy in Motion. Over the course of the past 7 months I have been attempting to be more aware of my emotions and the emotions of others. You see, when we experience an emotion our bodies react to it. We smile, we frown, we glare; the energy creates a motion in our bodies.

Often times, as humans, we do not wish to express our emotions. We do not want to open up to others and have them see what we are feeling. Expressing that emotion gives a sense of vulnerability. Since we’re already feeling emotional, our brains register that we are vulnerable as is and that we should close off and protect ourselves.

While those who read body language are able to see a set of movements and interpret the emotion, even sometimes the thoughts, of an individual. However, not everyone is trained to recognize these emotions in others or themselves. While I would suggest that everyone look into being trained more in body language, not everyone is interested in investing time, energy and money into that field. For those who are looking to manage their emotions, but not necessarily concerned about recognizing promptly what they’re feeling, I would offer this suggestion.

Allow yourself to feel! By not expressing your emotions you’re trapping that motion; you’re creating an energy dam in your system. If you’re sad, be sad! You need to express that emotion and use the energy. The majority of people I talk to who are feeling sad tell me that they don’t want to be sad, they want to be happy. While I firmly believe that happiness is a choice, I also believe it is important to express the emotions we’re experiencing. The best way to be able to move on to a new, more desired emotion, is to use the emotion as it was intended. If you’re angry, use that energy! Go running, go to the gym, to on a walk. If you’re sad, cry! Crying is our body’s way of cleansing and riding itself of a lot of negative emotion. If you’re happy, smile! Smile, laugh, giggle.

Once you have allowed yourself to feel, to set that energy in motion as it has been designed, then you’re capable of moving on to a new level of energy; a positive level of energy. The key to all of this is to remember that emotion is energy in motion. Don’t keep it bottled up. Use it! As you do this, you will find ways to better manage your emotions.

About Jaxon

I am a spiritual being here to have mortal experiences. I believe in love. Not the love that can be fit in three words: I love you, but in the love that radiates from a couple who cherish one another more than life itself. I believe in love as it has been intended to be: eternal. I believe in progress. Learning from life, love, books, people and inspiration should be a daily experience. There is something incredible about a person who strives to be their best self. I believe in pursuing dreams. Mortality only happens once and is too short to simply sit back and allow it to pass you by. Goals, dreams and those who join in the pursuit of those dreams are what live worth while. I believe in being happy! True happiness is not found. It is a choice. The moment life is seen as being beautiful and is deeply appreciated, the easier it is to choose to be happy. I believe in the Gospel of Jesus Christ. He is my Savior, my King and my Friend. I am a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and living His truth is key to my happiness and existence.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 103 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 3,877 hits
Map
