//
you're reading...
Self Improvement & Mentoring

Eagerly Awaiting


What is it about human nature to look forward with an eye of anticipation? Where does the desire to hope for an event to come to pass, despite the fact there is no promise tomorrow will come? We set goals, make plans, have dreams and seem to live in the constant thought of, “There is something better just around the bend”.

What if there was no tomorrow? What if all you had was today? What would you do to make today the best day ever? Where would you focus your thoughts, emotions and actions? When would you start making every minute count; from the time you woke up or would you even sleep? Who would be a part of your day?

Some of you may be thinking, “but Jaxon, I don’t just have today! I am healthy, the world isn’t ending and I fully intend to live out the next twenty years of my life!” While I don’t think that the world will be ending any time soon and I would hope that none of you reading this are living your last day, I have to point out that how you treat today is how you truly anticipate and foresee your future.

When was the last time you dedicated an hour to read a book that would change your life?
In contrast, when was the last time you watched several 30-45 minute episodes of your favorite TV show?
What time do you wake up on days that you don’t have an appointment or work? Do you “sleep your life away”? Is there nothing in that day that is worth greeting bright and early?

Those people who truly are eagerly awaiting a hopeful, improved, successful future are those who live each day with purpose and who do not waste a minute. They take time to relax, watch a TV show or movie, but only after they have exhausted their efforts to bring their future goals and dreams into fruition for the day.

Rather than waiting for the future to come to you, decided today what tomorrow is going to be. Make goals, set rules, live and love life. Take the helm of your life and guide your future to safe and successful harbors!
“Be of good cheer. The future is as bright as your faith.” — Thomas S. Monson

About Jaxon

I am a spiritual being here to have mortal experiences. I believe in love. Not the love that can be fit in three words: I love you, but in the love that radiates from a couple who cherish one another more than life itself. I believe in love as it has been intended to be: eternal. I believe in progress. Learning from life, love, books, people and inspiration should be a daily experience. There is something incredible about a person who strives to be their best self. I believe in pursuing dreams. Mortality only happens once and is too short to simply sit back and allow it to pass you by. Goals, dreams and those who join in the pursuit of those dreams are what live worth while. I believe in being happy! True happiness is not found. It is a choice. The moment life is seen as being beautiful and is deeply appreciated, the easier it is to choose to be happy. I believe in the Gospel of Jesus Christ. He is my Savior, my King and my Friend. I am a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and living His truth is key to my happiness and existence.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 103 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 3,875 hits
Map
