//
you're reading...
Self Improvement & Mentoring

rules


rules

What rules do you live by?
Do you have rules that you live by?
What are rules and why should we live by them?
A rule is: a principle or regulation governing conduct, action, procedure, arrangement.
Why have rules to live by? Without a way to determine how you will conduct your life, your actions, thoughts etc. you are bound to be unfocused, unsuccessful and eventually unhealthy and unhappy. The rules that we choose to live by will help us in our quest for happiness, health and success.
What do I mean by “rules to live by”? Obviously there are hundreds of rules that you can set in place for yourself, but how many of those will you actually live by? How many of us set schedules, create goals, go on diets and end up back to where we started after a few days?

I would like to offer a simple suggestion that I learned from a close friend. Create a morning and evening schedule. This will act as the base for your rules. When I say “morning and evening schedule” I do not mean setting your alarm at a certain time and going to sleep at a certain time. What I mean is that you should make a list of things you will do every morning before doing anything else and a list of things you will do before going to bed each night.

My morning and evening schedule looks like this:
Morning: wake up, pray, look at my vision board, read scriptures. Evening: Meditation, vision board, prayer, sleep.

I don’t have a set time frame for any of these things, but I need to do them each day in order for my day to have structure and to flow better. I also noticed that as I keep these simple rules, the other rules that I establish in the future are easier to follow and are coupled with the evidence of how much better your day flows when you keep your personal rules.

In short — why we keep rules is because success follows a set of rules as well. If we want success, in any form, we must learn to follow rules ourselves. Chaos and structure never mesh together; don’t be chaotic! Set your personal rules today!

For further explanation about setting a morning and evening schedule, click here.

About Jaxon

I am a spiritual being here to have mortal experiences. I believe in love. Not the love that can be fit in three words: I love you, but in the love that radiates from a couple who cherish one another more than life itself. I believe in love as it has been intended to be: eternal. I believe in progress. Learning from life, love, books, people and inspiration should be a daily experience. There is something incredible about a person who strives to be their best self. I believe in pursuing dreams. Mortality only happens once and is too short to simply sit back and allow it to pass you by. Goals, dreams and those who join in the pursuit of those dreams are what live worth while. I believe in being happy! True happiness is not found. It is a choice. The moment life is seen as being beautiful and is deeply appreciated, the easier it is to choose to be happy. I believe in the Gospel of Jesus Christ. He is my Savior, my King and my Friend. I am a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and living His truth is key to my happiness and existence.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 103 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 3,877 hits
Map
