//
you're reading...
Dating & Relationships

So Let ‘Em Stare


Twelve more floors your eyes and mine are all I need to come clean
Or should I wait for the lobby, spare the lives
Of some 26 nervous eyes
Being occupied by little red numbers passing by
If I wait one minute longer, I think I will die
Die, die.
So let em’ stare
Incubus, Crowded Elevator

I have dated both ends of the spectrum when it comes to Public Display of Affection (PDA). I have dated girls where we have been kissing passionately (that might be an understatement) in a crowded hallway or street. I have dated girls who refuse to hug, hold hands, anything that might draw attention to us. In thinking about PDA I have been attempting to discern how I feel about it.

Was I more comfortable dating a girl who was passionate about our relationship and didn’t care if anyone was watching our activities?
Do I prefer the comfort of being just another person passing by, with a beautiful girl by his side, and having people wonder, Do you think are they together?

You can get some pretty nasty looks and comments from people if you’re too PDA. The first time I ever made out was at a water park. We were kissing, kissing a lot, but we were mostly kissing underwater (side note: if you have never kissed underwater, do it!) but one time we came out of the water to find a life guard signaling for us to head to the side of the pool. He then made a comment that I will never forget, “Seven Peaks is a place for families, not for making families.” Did that stop us? No. Not at all. There is something exciting about being affectionate in public.

Do I suggest that everyone make out in the most crowded place they can find? Please, no! Use your brain. There is a time and a place; whether that is in a completely private setting or a public setting.

I have come to avoid dating girls that are uncomfortable with showing PDA.

Are you embarrassed to hold my hand, hug me, kiss me? What is so embarrassing about it? Do you care more about what some complete strangers think about your love life? Chances are, you probably won’t see those people again. Now if you’re uncomfortable with showing affection in front of family and friends, I would be more understanding, but still have a hard time understanding why you wouldn’t want to show small amounts of affection in front of them to show that you have romantic feelings for me.

All in all, I tend to lean more towards public displays of affection. If others have a problem with it: let ’em stare.

About Jaxon

I am a spiritual being here to have mortal experiences. I believe in love. Not the love that can be fit in three words: I love you, but in the love that radiates from a couple who cherish one another more than life itself. I believe in love as it has been intended to be: eternal. I believe in progress. Learning from life, love, books, people and inspiration should be a daily experience. There is something incredible about a person who strives to be their best self. I believe in pursuing dreams. Mortality only happens once and is too short to simply sit back and allow it to pass you by. Goals, dreams and those who join in the pursuit of those dreams are what live worth while. I believe in being happy! True happiness is not found. It is a choice. The moment life is seen as being beautiful and is deeply appreciated, the easier it is to choose to be happy. I believe in the Gospel of Jesus Christ. He is my Savior, my King and my Friend. I am a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and living His truth is key to my happiness and existence.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 103 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 3,875 hits
Map
