//
you're reading...
Dating & Relationships, Self Improvement & Mentoring

The Band Aid


I learned a principle today that I like to call ‘The Band Aid’.

The idea behind this principle is that there are moments that are going to cause a small amount of pain, so we avoid them. We avoid topics of conversation, asking certain questions, acknowledging facts we already know to be true, because we know the outcome: ouch.

We have two options:
1) We leave ‘the band aid’ alone, hoping that it falls off by itself and doesn’t hurt us and also doesn’t cause more problems.
2) We rip ‘the band aid’ off quickly and accept it will hurt a little, but needs to be done.

There are moments in our life and our relationships where we have to take a good look at what is happening and weigh our options. Will it hurt more in the future if we simply ignore ‘the band aid’? Will it bother us if we never acknowledge ‘the band aid’ exists? How will taking care of ‘the band aid’ now help us grow? How will we be hindered if we don’t take care if it?

I am so grateful for those people in my life who have helped me learn this concept through experiencing it. More often than not, the right thing to do is acknowledge it needs to be done–rip ‘the band aid’ off quickly!

About Jaxon

I am a spiritual being here to have mortal experiences. I believe in love. Not the love that can be fit in three words: I love you, but in the love that radiates from a couple who cherish one another more than life itself. I believe in love as it has been intended to be: eternal. I believe in progress. Learning from life, love, books, people and inspiration should be a daily experience. There is something incredible about a person who strives to be their best self. I believe in pursuing dreams. Mortality only happens once and is too short to simply sit back and allow it to pass you by. Goals, dreams and those who join in the pursuit of those dreams are what live worth while. I believe in being happy! True happiness is not found. It is a choice. The moment life is seen as being beautiful and is deeply appreciated, the easier it is to choose to be happy. I believe in the Gospel of Jesus Christ. He is my Savior, my King and my Friend. I am a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and living His truth is key to my happiness and existence.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 103 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 3,877 hits
Map
