//
you're reading...
Dating & Relationships

Lost In Translation


Have you ever had a conversation or read a message from the opposite sex and thought, ‘What does this mean’? Sometimes it feels like there should be a Rosetta stone for daily conversations with our opposites.

I am no expert. In fact, the reason I am writing this is because I have had a lot of ‘wait, what?’ moments as of late. However, I do know a few things and feel obligated to share what I do know. Hopefully this helps you.

To the Ladies:

Have you seen the part in ‘Liar Liar’ where Jim Carrey is attempting to say or write ‘This pen is red”, despite the fact it is blue? Sometimes that is how we feel as men. We feel like, while you’re holding a blue pen, you’re telling us that is red.

The best way to communicate to a man is to “write it out in crayon”. Say it how it is. Somewhere along the human progression (or regression) men lost their ability to understand hints, clues and signals. Speaking with hints to a man is like trying to speak Spanish to someone who only speaks English. You may be saying ‘Quiero que estemos juntos’ (I want us to be together) but all the man understood was ‘Quiero taco bell’ (I want taco bell).
If you like the guy, by all means, flirt, be cute and don’t be too direct; that is half the fun! However, don’t send hints or clues when you want things to progress into something more serious. We won’t pick up on them 95% of the time. Tell us as directly and as simply as you can what you want to happen.

To the Men:

I just told the ladies that we need to have things written in crayon, so I’m going to try to make this as simple as possible by quoting a movie.

“Ask her what she thought about […] what was her favorite […], why that one. And when she answers, don’t be looking at her mouth. Don’t be wondering what she looks like naked. Listen to what she is saying and respond. Listen and respond. That way, when it’s your turn to talk… you’ll have something better to say than, “I like your mouth.” -Hitch

Okay guys, here is the deal. Chances are she won’t be able to talk to you about Call of Duty, Halo, Rubiks Cube, SEO or Sports etc. but guess what? You’re not going to be able to talk about makeup, hand bags, shopping, what happened on Vampire Diaries ect. Get over it! She has interests that don’t interest you and you have interests that don’t interest her. You need to learn to be interested or at least seem interested. Pay attention! Listen closely! I know I am asking a lot of you right now, but you need to listen with your ears and your eyes. She tells you that she had a good day but what does her body say? If you want to understand her, you need to give her time and attention. You can never learn a new language if you aren’t willing to listen, speak, communicate.

Again, I hope this helps. Please add any other advice you have in the comments!

About Jaxon

I am a spiritual being here to have mortal experiences. I believe in love. Not the love that can be fit in three words: I love you, but in the love that radiates from a couple who cherish one another more than life itself. I believe in love as it has been intended to be: eternal. I believe in progress. Learning from life, love, books, people and inspiration should be a daily experience. There is something incredible about a person who strives to be their best self. I believe in pursuing dreams. Mortality only happens once and is too short to simply sit back and allow it to pass you by. Goals, dreams and those who join in the pursuit of those dreams are what live worth while. I believe in being happy! True happiness is not found. It is a choice. The moment life is seen as being beautiful and is deeply appreciated, the easier it is to choose to be happy. I believe in the Gospel of Jesus Christ. He is my Savior, my King and my Friend. I am a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and living His truth is key to my happiness and existence.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 103 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 3,877 hits
Map
