//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Not Yet


My mind has been reeling the past few hours (I say few, but really it is been closer to twelve) about the idea of waiting. My thoughts have been wrapped around the ideas of trying to understand how to tell when the answer from God is ‘No’ and when it is ‘Not yet’.

I am currently at the point in my life where I will be making the biggest decision of my life: whom to marry. Since it is easily the biggest and most important decision I will make in my eternal progression I have come to feel almost obsessed with it. However I have, in a sense, been told I need to wait. Is it wrong for me to desire the thing that I have waited my whole life for? Is it wrong to be anxious to know who that beautiful girl is and to want to treasure her and be her partner in every sense of the word? Why do I feel like being anxiously engaged in pursuing that course seems, not only difficult, but at times impossible?

As I am writing this the thought came to mind to read the talk by President Dieter F. Uchtdorf, of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, entitled: Continue in Patience.

“From that experience, I learned that patience was far more than simply waiting for something to happen—patience required actively working toward worthwhile goals and not getting discouraged when results didn’t appear instantly or without effort. There is an important concept here: patience is not passive resignation, nor is it failing to act because of our fears. Patience means active waiting and enduring. It means staying with something and doing all that we can—working, hoping, and exercising faith; bearing hardship with fortitude, even when the desires of our hearts are delayed. Patience is not simply enduring; it is enduring well!”

I suppose that is the answer. Press forward living life to the fullest and the best that you can with what you do not have (yet), but do not let yourself lose sight of your goal and dreams. With patience, no worthy desire will be denied. The answer may just be, ‘not yet’.

About Jaxon

I am a spiritual being here to have mortal experiences. I believe in love. Not the love that can be fit in three words: I love you, but in the love that radiates from a couple who cherish one another more than life itself. I believe in love as it has been intended to be: eternal. I believe in progress. Learning from life, love, books, people and inspiration should be a daily experience. There is something incredible about a person who strives to be their best self. I believe in pursuing dreams. Mortality only happens once and is too short to simply sit back and allow it to pass you by. Goals, dreams and those who join in the pursuit of those dreams are what live worth while. I believe in being happy! True happiness is not found. It is a choice. The moment life is seen as being beautiful and is deeply appreciated, the easier it is to choose to be happy. I believe in the Gospel of Jesus Christ. He is my Savior, my King and my Friend. I am a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and living His truth is key to my happiness and existence.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 103 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 3,877 hits
Map
